Layoverland

Layoverland

Two teens, one stuck atoning for her sins and one destined for heaven, fall in love in purgatory in this darkly hilarious and heartfelt rom-com, perfect for fans of The Good Place.

Beatrice Fox deserves to go straight to hell. At least, that's what she thinks. On her last day on Earth, she ruined the life of the person she loves most--her little sister, Emmy. So when Bea awakens from a fatal car accident to find herself on an airplane headed for a mysterious destination, she's confused, to say the least. Once on the ground, Bea receives some truly harrowing news: not only is she in purgatory, but she has been chosen to join the Memory Experience team. If she wants another shot at heaven, she'll have to use her master manipulation skills to help 5,000 souls suss out what's keeping them from moving on.

There's just one slight problem. Bea's first assigned soul is Caleb, the boy who caused her accident, and the last person Bea would ever want to send to the pearly gates. But as much as Bea would love to see Caleb suffer for dooming her to a seemingly endless future of listening to other people's problems, she can't help but notice that he's kind of cute, and sort of sweet, and that maybe, despite her best efforts, she's totally falling for him. And to make matters worse, he's definitely falling for her. Now, determined to make the most of her time in purgatory, Bea must decide what is truly worth dying for--romance or revenge.

Title:Layoverland
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781984836120
Format Type:

    Layoverland Reviews

  • emma

    I have exactly one criticism of this book, and I will get it out of the way immediately:This takes place in purgatory (awesome). Purgatory is set up as an airport terminal in which everyone has to fig...

  • Emily

    There's a phrase that several of my writer friends and I use--that sometimes a book is so much better than it needs to be.This book is so much better than it needs to be.I laughed, I cried, I contempl...

  • Sylvie

    First anticipated book of 2020: Read ✅The minute I read the synopsis of this book I knew I was going to read it ASAP. And the reason was because I always find it fascinating when books are about aft...

  • Namera [The Literary Invertebrate]

    It’s true what they say: the best-sounding books have the worst executions. Okay, maybe they don’t actually say that, but they should. Because in my experience, it’s true 95% of the time (at ...

  • Tijana

    "If there’s one thing I’ve learned from watching too many romcoms, it’s that if you love someone, you should always tell them before it’s too late.""That doesn’t apply to real life.""Well...

  • Cindy ???

    I've seen this pitched as perfect for fans of The Good Place, and I am a huge fan of that show so I am very intrigued. Yet also reasonably skeptical, because those are big shoes to try and fill. But I...

  • *mk*

    This book kind of touts itself as a book for fan of The Good Place, and while I think there are some similarities in terms of plot, it is lacking the same depth and strong emotions that the latter has...

  • Lily ??

    I love The Good Place, but I don’t always like it. And that is pretty much how I feel about this book, but on a smaller scale.Blog | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr | Bloglovin’...

  • Stephanie ((Strazzybooks))

    "'Jenna, do you understand where we are? This isn’t sleep-away camp. This isn’t high school. This isn’t some prom with an ironic theme of ‘crappy airport’. Now is not the time for meeting bo...

  • Stacee

    I was intrigued by the cover and sucked in by the synopsis and I couldn’t wait to read this one. I really liked Bea and Caleb. She’s aggressive and maybe a bit hard hearted, but I truly loved read...